Our Sister. Our Angel.

How do I write this? How will I ever find the words?….

My husband’s sister passed away unexpectedly and suddenly Friday afternoon due to complications (a blood clot) from her injuries. She had just taken her 11 year old daughter shopping for school supplies and was walking up the stairs to the front door when she collapsed.

This weekend has been one of the hardest of my life. I am so thankful for the time we had with her, I am thankful that he didn’t take her without us getting to say what we needed to say. He did not win. She got three weeks of the most love and support one person could have ever received. She talked to friends she hadn’t in years, she had fun, she had meaningful conversations that are cherished more than ever now.

My heart is heavy, but I am trying to remain strong for my husband and his our family, for our niece. There are so many things that I can’t even say out loud yet. So many prayers to God that I am hopeful he reveals His plan, because I am lost and in the dark, and I am searching for the light.

It’s just not fair. She was one of the most selfless, kind people I have ever met. She had her brother’s sense of humor and could always make people laugh, even when it was hard to.

We celebrated my niece’s 11 year birthday yesterday at a party that her mother had planned. We felt it was important to not only celebrate her, but celebrate her mom. We know that’s what her mom would have wanted. Thankfully, last weekend, on her actual birthday, I suggested a small dinner and cake with the close immediate family and her mom was able to give her most of her gifts, a card, and watch her blow out her candles. Yesterday, we cried a little, gave our niece the last gift her mother had ordered for her, and then had the biggest water fight where no one left the house dry and laughed harder than we have in days. Her and her brother always loved a good water fight, and we knew she was looking down from Heaven loving every minute of it.

Us

 

 

 

 

Forever in our hearts…

11 thoughts on “Our Sister. Our Angel.

  1. Wow. There are no words. I’m so sorry. I just can’t imagine the pain your family must be feeling. But I love the story about the water balloon fight. That made me smile. I’m so glad you guys could be there for your niece and still give her her special day.

    Like

  2. I am so, so sorry for this horrible loss. I loved what you said about him not winning, about your sister in law having the time to be with her family after the horrific assault. But, it still makes me so very sad and I didn’t even have the privilege of knowing her, just what you have shared. And her daughter… I can’t imagine. Thinking of you and your family as you grieve this horrific loss. I cannot adequately put into words anything resembling comfort in the face of this loss. Holding you all in my heart.

    Like

  3. Oh that is terrible and so tragic. I’m glad that she got to spend time with her daughter and family after the assault though. Thinking of you and your family.

    Like

Leave a Reply

