Microblog Mondays – On the Other Side

I feel like last Sunday night we were thrown into a tornado, and it spit us out and here we are, on a Monday.

My sister-in-law and niece are doing as well as can be expected. Insurance wouldn’t pay for her to go to a rehab facility so she moved in with her and my husband’s father and step-mother and they are helping take care of her with the assistance of an in-home nurse that comes three times a week *major eye roll*…She has no use of her hands from the surgeries they did to repaid the damage so think of all the things you do with your hands that now has to be done by someone else until further notice. She is handling it well and thankfully she has my husband’s sense of humor that helps get them through the tough times. The family had me setup a GoFundMe page because her insurance deductibles for the house and her medical bills will be a lot, plus the amount of things that need replaced (furniture, appliances, etc) that was damaged in the attack will be quite expensive. I got to see the house and let me just tell you, they are lucky they made it out alive. It shook me to my core to see the horrific scene and think that my 10 year old niece witnessed that first hand. But, we as a family are trying to remain positive, thankful that they survived, and move forward. When he took his life he took the anger with him.

On another, must more positive note, the nurse called Friday and we have a new donor. She has donated three times before. The first two resulted in live births, and she put up the same great numbers on her third round but they found a sperm issue so the eggs had to be discarded after fertilization.

So, we aren’t as delayed as expected due to her not needing a lot of the screenings new donors need to it has been a blessing in disguise. I can’t imagine trying to worry about retrieval and transfer last week and this week with everything we’ve had going on. Now, just shortly after I get to celebrate my 30th birthday, we will be doing a transfer. *YAY*

Thank you all for your support and love last week. It was such a horrific week from hell but we are thankful God pulled us through. #MicroblogMondays

 

11 thoughts on “Microblog Mondays – On the Other Side

  1. Wow, that’s great that you have a new donor who is proven with other families! I am so glad that you don’t have a long delay for your transfer. I am sad that insurance is not covering what’s necessary for your sister-in-law to truly heal, and that gofundme is necessary for so many families who face astronomical medical bills not covered by insurance. Where is the compassion? I can’t imagine what it must have been like to see the house where the attack occurred. I hope that your niece is able to receive counseling, because that is such a traumatic experience and even if she seems to be coping well, it is sure to affect her deeply. I am so sorry that your family is dealing with this trauma, but so glad that you have the silver lining of an upcoming cycle to think about and your birthday! Big fat tight hugs to you as you sort through everything, the sad and the good.

    Like

    • Thank you so very much! It is really unfortunate, and my husband’s family is not poor but they are not well off enough to be able to pay the thousands of dollars this whole situation is going to cost her. We are so thankful for all the support we’ve gotten already.

      My niece was already in counseling so luckily she has an established resource already that she trusts and will continue to go see. Her mother is so awesome and is making sure she is receiving everything she needs to heal. She gets to come stay with us next weekend so I am looking forward to spoiling her rotten as well.

      Like

  2. You definitely have had a lot going on. It’s ridiculous that insurance won’t pay for a rehab facility for someone who clearly needs it. Sounds like she’s doing well emotionally, but this is still a horrific thing she and her daughter had to endure. Oh as much as I hate it that your last DE cycle didn’t work out, I am so glad that this new donor sounds so promising! You are right that since she has donated before, you save time and money on all the screening tests. And so great that she is a proven donor. I so hope that things go smoothly with her cycle so you are on your way to your transfer and your baby.

    Like

  3. That’s awful that her insurance wouldn’t pay for therapy. I mean, really? I’m so sorry all this has been happening to them.
    That’s so great to hear about the new donor, though. Two successful pregnancies is really really good!

    Like

  4. I can’t believe they sent your SIL home without the ability to use her hands. Insurance makes me so angry sometimes. On the fkip side, I am so, so happy to hear that you have such wonderful potential for your new donor. It must be such a relief not to have to wait for screenings.

    Like

  5. Congratulations on the new donor. What great news to find her and that you won’t be too delayed.
    So sorry for your SIL and niece but wonderful that they have a good support network. Hearing stories about insurance like this makes me grateful for the wonderful NHS we have in the UK – whilst not without issues it helps prevent these situations. I hope your SIL continues to improve and your niece finds some comfort through her counselling.

    Like

  6. I’m so sorry to hear everything you and your family have been through. I can’t imagine going through this and having to worry about medical costs as well. And for you to deal with that, at the same time as the old cycle and the new donor. That’s a lot. I’m not surprised you’ve found it hard. You’re allowed to, you know. Sending you best wishes.

    Like

Leave a Reply

