The Rainbow

This week has not been an easy one. I got into a very negative head space and didn’t even want to talk to anyone about it. I hid tears from my husband and ignored phone calls that I knew would result in tears. I still don’t know where it came from, but it hit HARD!

I posted to social media finally that I just needed some prayers. I hate doing this because I don’t want people to think I’m seeking attention, but I genuinely just wanted someone, anyone, to say a prayer for me. The outpouring of love I received from everyone was amazing. I finally let me husband see me cry a little and he just kissed my forehead and reminded me that he is always here.

I can’t say enough how beyond blessed I am for him, I can’t even let my brain go to a place where I have a world where he doesn’t exist.

Yesterday my best friend got home from a business trip and I rushed over to see her. We go weeks sometimes without seeing each other but after she gets home from trips to other states I always miss her just a little more. I guess it’s because I know while she’s gone that I couldn’t see her, even if I wanted to. It was a wonderful visit as always and I even got some snuggles from her little girl and it was enough to bring me to tears. I call her my little ray of sunshine.
Then on our way home, we started seeing a rainbow. As we got closer to home it got brighter, the brightest I have ever seen a rainbow. Then it made a full arch and turned into a double rainbow. It was beautiful.

I’m sure many of you know that they say babies you give birth to after a miscarriage are “rainbow babies”. What you don’t know is that yesterday I had a talk with God. I asked that He hear my prayer and that He give me peace. I asked that He bring me out of this darkness I’ve been in all week. Well, I believe He delivered, and in a big way. I got chills when I saw this rainbow and I believe God is telling me our rainbow is coming.

My husband without me saying a word said, “Seems like a sign to me”. He knew I had been feeling down and how much I love rainbows, the sky and sunsets. So he drove to find an opening and pulled over to let me get out and take pictures. I took some with my nice Nikon that I’ll post at a later date but I wanted to share the ones I got from my phone.



“I have set my rainbow in the clouds, and it will be the sign of the covenant between me and the earth. Whenever I bring clouds over the earth and the rainbow appears in the clouds, I will remember my covenant between me and you and all living creatures of every kind. Never again will the waters become a flood to destroy all life.”  —Genesis 9:13-15 

Leave a Reply

