Consult for Donor Eggs

Well, yesterday was the day. Our appointment went great. Our RE seemed very confident this would be our answer and didn’t even try to sway us into doing anything else. We talked to him for a little bit about what needed to be done to get this plan moving, then he sent in various members of his staff, one after another, to get things started.

I was given a RX for Birth Control and was instructed to take it for a week, then stop for a week, then start again for a week. Once I start bleeding (sorry for TMI) I am supposed to call them and schedule an HSG. I had one in 2008 but since I have very irregular cycles (only 2 in the last two years) and I have had 2 D&C’s he wants to check and make sure everything is clear and smooth in there. The irony of needing birth control to start this whole process is not lost on me. It feels so weird to have a calendar alert on my phone again for the first time since 2007 and to be carrying around this little white pack with me. Although I will say it’s much cuter than the pink stop sign looking pack I used to have.

They did blood work on DH, which I found very comical because for once he is the one getting stuck with needles. They wanted to do his genetic mapping and test for a list of things just to rule out what we could while we wait. Another reason I love my RE, he knows I’m a worrier and he’s proactive at doing things before I even ask. DH even commented that he forgot how much he liked him and enjoyed seeing him yesterday.



$ “Bitch Betta Have My Money!! $ haha!

The nurse will email us potential donors (although she didn’t say when that will actually happen) but we aren’t in a huge hurry since I need to do the HSG and get the rest of the finances in line.

Speaking of finances. We are almost done getting everything secured. We have some documents we have to provide before they will finalize our loan but we are getting very close. It’s hard not to be a bit skeptical and I won’t fully believe we have it and our actually going to do this until I see the $$$ in the bank. haha!

It still blows me away that we are this close. I haven’t let myself get totally excited yet. Once the money is there I will feel like I can exhale a little and just start this crazy ride towards donor eggs. So. Unreal.

Thank you all for the support and love as we start this roller coaster ride. Even if it’s just a comment here on the blog those mean more than you’ll ever know. I got snaps, texts, and chats all day yesterday and it felt great to have so many people rooting for us. We are going to keep everything fairly quiet in real life because we know this journey has so many moving parts we just can’t keep everyone informed all the time but I will obviously be spilling all the gory juicy details here.

*prayers prayers prayers* I need this loan to finalize and I need to start so I can do this HSG.

Step 1

3 thoughts on “Consult for Donor Eggs

  1. It sounds like you had a wonderful appointment and everything is moving in the right step! Your RE sounds great and it's fantastic that he's so thorough! Ah, I'm so excited for you and can't wait to follow you on your journey!! 🙂 Sending lots of hugs, prayers and good thoughts your way and hoping news of your finalised loan is nearby!

    Like

  2. Pingback: MTHFR | the OCD infertile

Leave a Reply

